Free Custom «Stages of Development» Essay Paper

Free Custom «Stages of Development» Essay Paper


Sigmund Freud is a well-known psychologist. He is famous for his psychological theories touching on issues on regression, ego, ID, and super ego. He is also the founder of psychoanalysis, which is treating patients with psychological problems by talking them into examining their past lives. This helps the psychiatrist and patients to determine past problems that are influencing their current lives. On the other hand, Erik Erickson is a psychologist who came up with the different stages of live. He said that human beings go through various stages and after each stage, they make resolutions on the previous stage. The stages he introduced are eight and his wife developed the ninth one later after his death. Some of the stages are trust vs. Mistrust developed in childhood. This means whether the child trusts or mistrusts his caregivers and the adolescence stage where adolescents try to discover their identities. So then are people products of their time and by-products of their history, culture, values and believes.

The statement, which states that people are products of their time and by-products of their history, culture, values and believes means that human beings are shaped by their destiny or events that they have passed through. It means that the various stages that human beings go through determine how they are going to behave in the next stage, for example, if a child develops fear or mistrust in her early life then it is feasible that most of his life he will live in fear unless the problem is resolved. People are by products of their culture, values, and history. In the stages of development, most of one’s thoughts and behavior are shaped by the values that they learn from the people in the society. For example, the taboos, norms and the history that governs people in a society play a crucial role in development of human beings (Welchman, 2000).

Erickson’s stages of development can be compared to a person’s life. These stages as said earlier determine the outcome of a person’s life. The first stage of trust vs. mistrust shapes how a person will stay with people in a society. For example if a child trusts the people who take care of him then he will have better relations with people, for example, choosing to work as a personnel officer shows that a person is competent with people around him and this might be because of trusting caregivers during childhood.

The other stage, which can be useful in shaping behavior, is the initiative vs. guilt. This stage determines whether a person will feel guilty of his accomplishment or be elated with what he accomplishes. This determines if a person is proud of his achievements or feels guilty about his accomplishment, for example, choosing to be personnel officer in my life is my greatest accomplishment because I have been passionate about dealing with people, which developed because of trust, which I had for my caregivers (Bird, 2002).

Competence vs. inferiority is another stage that determines one’s lifestyle. If a child feels inferior, then the child might turn out being an introvert. If on the other hand, he feels competent with himself then he will be an extrovert and accomplishes much in life. In most cases, this stage occurs while the child has joined the school. Therefore, it is the role of the teacher to guide the child to recognize his abilities and to develop them so that the child feels competent rather than feel inferior. Teachers and parents have shaped my career as a personnel officer and helped me develop a sense of competence.


To conclude, it is true that people are products of their time and by products of their history, values, culture, and beliefs. Sigmund Freud and Erik Erickson’ stages of development have demonstrated this fact.


Our Customers' Testimonials

Current status


Preparing Orders


Active Writers


Support Agents

Order your 1st paper and get discount Use code first15
We are online - chat with us!